Kent ISD hosts New Teacher PLC

Are First Year Teachers Ever Proficient?

I recently read a blog on Education Week Teachers entitled “Are First Year Teachers Ever Proficient?” The author wrote about what it is like to be a first year teacher and “confesses to being something of a mess in his first year of teaching.”

This year alone, there were at least 80 new teachers hired in Kent County! I am sure some of these new educators are feeling the same way.

But there is hope…

In the first three years of employment, teachers are required to have 15 days of professional learning outside of their planned PD offered through their district.

Kent ISD recently developed a professional learning cohort for new teachers! We have designed a blended program that allows teachers, newer to the profession, opportunities for targeted learning in the areas specific to their unique needs including classroom management, planning, and differentiation.

Please share and encourage teachers in your district that are in their first three years of teaching to join Kent ISD’s cohort.  This is an opportunity for staff to build a network with other teachers from around the county and to support districts in targeted professional learning specific to the needs of developing teachers.

CLICK HERE to read more about this cohort.

CLICK HERE to enroll.

3 thoughts on “Are First Year Teachers Ever Proficient?”

  1. I did my first year teaching in 1982 and would say that at the time I didn’t think I was a bad teacher, in fact I really thought I was really a good teacher. Strangely enough I kept all my planning notes from that year and looked at them again a few years ago to see what kind of ideas I was using back then. To my amazement I found that the planning I did back then was pretty scant to say the least and all those amazing ideas I thought I had didn’t really have much depth. But saying that, what was present was an incredible passion for being in the classroom and a desire to do some really fun child centred things. The children I believe did have a great time and did at the same learn something. I don’t recall any complaints.

    Later after having a few years off in the middle, I re-entered teaching again in 1997 and was shocked at what was expected of teachers. There was minimal scope to do really brilliant things, and if you did, it had to be so mind blowing-ly incredible, otherwise don’t waste everyone’s time. I genuinely felt that a lot of the fun had been sucked out of it and teaching had become so prescriptive and everyone feared any kind of originality.

    My question is: Are we putting too much pressure on teachers today to be brilliant not only in their first year, but generally? Children don’t just learn by shovelling concepts down their throat, they learn also by experiences, and all kinds of experiences.

    Like

    1. @aiyshah2014 – you pose great questions in regards to the pressure on teachers, especially teachers who are newer in the classroom. This collaboration and learning community was designed to support teachers through experience, modeling, and sharing of ideas…much like what you mention. A supported teacher will take risks, reflect on their practices, and develop strategies to support students, including new instructional practices. Teachers may feel overwhelmed and pressured, but without a venue to share safely what is working well, what isn’t, and how wonder (out loud) how they might adjust their instruction accordingly. It is our hope that this network allows that safe and trusting environment to take shape with teachers who have that incredible passion and excitement for teaching and learning.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I think what you are talking about is a really great development for teachers. We never had such a thing in my early days. We were literally thrown to the lions, and if you survived, you would be considered a good teacher, if you didn’t, you would leave.

        All the best.

        Like

Leave a Reply

